Greg Clark in Saudi Arabia
A daily log of the comings and goings of someone from the US living in Saudi Arabia

don’t jump the line!

pOfnKQS1KD-2

For the first time since starting my blog, I am going to post about something that many Saudis do that I don’t appreciate.

It is quite the norm for a Saudi to go to the front of a line of people waiting for something.  This can be for just about anything….from waiting to get your fruit/vegetables weighed at the grocery to ordering something at a store.

Before I say more, let me stress that there are a minority of people who do this but enough that it occurs about every other day for me.  I am not shy to tell people who attempt to jump ahead of a line that I am in that they are to get in the back of the line.  While I often get stared at by the person who I tell to get to the back of the line, I have yet to have someone not move to the back of the line….also, I usually get friendly smiles from the others who were already in the line with me.

Again, not everyone does this but it occurs often enough that it seems to be a cultural norm in Saudi Arabia – and one that I don’t appreciate.

One Response to “don’t jump the line!”

  1. I agree with you. Don’t like it when it has happened to me here.


Leave a Reply

